Cool Things in Hokkaido Part 4

February 15, 2010

Ishiya Chocolate Factory..where they pretty much only make a kind of biscuit called Shiroi Koibito which is a square piece of white chocolate sandwiched between two butter cookies. They do other things but this is their flagship product. They’re nice but a teeny bit expensive… You do get a free one with your entrance ticket though! I’d post a picture but, ah, I ate it already, sorry!

The factory/museum is sort of fascinating though! There’s a big display of tea cups and biscuit packaging, the whole house is like some crazy person’s mansion and it also has a children’s toy museum! I couldn’t figure out why but I do love toy museums! I remember going to the Bethnal Green Museum of Childhood a few years ago and despite feeling really ill and terrible I could not stop looking at the doll’s houses..I just couldn’t!! They’re so..weird and small and perfectly preserved! There were no doll’s houses here but lots of other curious things!

So my favourite parts were the displays of packaging and the toy museum! The hot chocolate was rather nice too. It would have been even nicer if I had been dressed up in some kind of Victorian dress aaand there hadn’t been any cars/other signs of the modern world visible outside! The gilded, double-handled cups said ‘Victorian Lady’ but the flats/cars/telegraph wires outside didn’t! Not that I don’t love technology but it’s fun to have little *fake historical experiences* sometimes!

Leave a Reply

