Your tape, it lulled me to sleep

April 23, 2010

Here I am, wearing some awesome headphones:

I tried them on in Bic Camera and cool as they were I couldn’t buy them. I’ve always really wanted a pair of big headphones but I’m not entirely sure I could ever bring myself to wear them… I think I’d feel like people around me were looking at me thinking: ‘Who does she think she is! How arrogant!’ Why do I think this?? I’m not sure. I’d worry about the volume too. When I listen to music on my headphones on trains/buses/in cars I start a song, then hold the earphones away from my ears to check if there’s any sound coming out. I really hate the thought that I could be bothering someone and also the thought that other people might hear what I’m listening to! Imagine if they heard me listening to Duran Duran or something! I’d have to shake them and explain that it was part of a long, eclectic playlist! “Look at my mp3 player!! look! Grizzly Bear! Bjork! Tindersticks! Low! Explosions in the Sky! I’m a serious and proper music fan, honest!!” Haha, I think recently the song I’ve worried most about people overhearing is Konnichiwa Bitches by Robyn. Some of the lyrics are a bit ‘Oh dear..!’ but it’s so cute, I get addicted to it sometimes. I do wish Be Mine was available at karaoke, I rather love that song and video.

I don’t listen to headphones when I’m walking around quite as much as I used to though. I used to like, drink too much coffee then wander around listening to the most messed up Radiohead songs. (Climbing Up the Walls can make even the sunniest, happiest day seem twisted and scary!). Headphones on the train are my favourite though. All that lovely scenery, all those interesting buildings swooshing past + music, yay.

Leave a Reply

