Cutest Characters: Nemuneko

May 29, 2011

Oops, I say I’ll start regular features and then I mess up on my first try! In my defence, I went out on Friday night and just didn’t have time to write before going out. I’m really sorry!!

OK, so, cutest character post number one! The subject? Nemuneko.

Nemuneko, which means ‘sleepy cat’ is produced by Furyu and at the moment these cats (and their mice companions) are exclusively available in UFO catchers. I first found out about Nemuneko at the Arcade Operators Union show in 2009. Some of the free UFO catchers (yes, free! AOU is awesome) had big white Nemuneko available and we came home with two of them. Some characters are so cute they do something to my mind. Seriously, when I won one of these I almost felt like crying, it was just so cute.

Furyu has steadily been introducing new versions of the cats, including super furry ones, tiny plastic ones, Christmas ones, cherry blossom ones etc.  I’m hoping they’ll start selling merchandise at some point, The pictures on the labels and the pictures they have in the UFO catchers are terribly sweet and I think Nemuneko  merchandise would do well. In the meantime, I’m just lucky that Danny is so good at UFO catchers because I’m useless at them!

This website shows old and upcoming versions:

http://www.chara-hiroba.com/category20_list.php

Here are some photos of my steadily growing collection:

Cute!

Leave a Reply

